Wiesenthal Center Says "Nobel Laureates Make Mistakes" After Archbishop Tutu, Alice Walker and Others Call for Embargo Against Israel

July 21, 2014

It has been reported that 64 public figures including 7 Nobel Laureates, among them Archbishop Desmond Tutu and author Alice Walker, have called for an arms embargo against Israel.

"This has got to be the height of unmitigated chutzpah," said Rabbi Marvin Hier, founder and dean of the Simon Wiesenthal Center. "Every responsible world leader knows this war was started by Hamas when they fired hundreds of rockets at Israel's major population centers - something that no civilized country in the world would tolerate. If these intellectuals and Nobel laureates really wanted to stop violence in the Middle East, they should have the courage to call for a permanent embargo against Hamas, the terrorist organization whose charter calls for the destruction of Israel, and who deliberately use women and children as human shields," he continued.

"Let us also remember that Nobel Laureates like Archbishop Desmond Tutu have been on the wrong side of history. For example, in 1937, late famed British Philosopher and Nobel Laureate, Bertrand Russell thought that the best way to appease the Nazis was to break bread with them and invite them to 10 Downing Street," he said. "Later, when the blitz began in 1940 he even told his students at UCLA that mankind would be best served by a Hitler victory. Even Nobel Laureates make mistakes," Hier concluded.

For more information, please contact the Center's Public Relations Department, 310-553-9036, join the Center on Facebook, www.facebook.com/simonwiesenthalcenter, or follow @simonwiesenthal for news updates sent direct to your Twitter page or mobile device.

The Simon Wiesenthal Center is one of the largest international Jewish human rights organizations with over 400,000 member families in the United States. It is an NGO at international agencies including the United Nations, UNESCO, the OSCE, the OAS, the Council of Europe and the Latin American Parliament (Parlatino).