Friends of Simon Wiesenthal Center for Holocaust Studies Commends Government Announcement to Establish A National Holocaust Monument in Ottawa

July 21, 2011

TORONTO, ONTARIO - Friends of Simon Wiesenthal Center for Holocaust Studies (FSWC) commends Minister of State for Democratic Reform, Tim Uppal, (pictured left with FSWC President and CEO Avi Benlolo) and the government of Canada for announcing the establishment of a National Holocaust Monument in Ottawa.

"The creation of a national Holocaust memorial in our nation's capitol is long overdue," said Avi Benlolo, human rights activist and President and CEO of FSWC. "This monument will help ensure that those whose lives were so brutally destroyed by one of the most racist ideologies ever conceived will be honoured and remembered, and it will serve as a reminder that we must be vigilant in standing guard against hate and in promoting tolerance and human rights for all Canadians," he added.

Jason Kenney, Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism noted at the press conference announcing the Holocaust memorial that it will help address "the uniquely durable and pernicious form of hatred" that is anti-Semitism, while Minister Uppal noted its importance is to "remind us what happens when humanity and basic human rights are ignored."

Bill C-442, an Act to Establish a National Holocaust Monument, began as a private member's bill proposed by MP Tim Uppal and was one of the last pieces of legislation to become law- with all party support – before the May election.

Also in attendance at the press conference were Chungsen Leung, MP Willowdale, Mark Adler, MP York Centre and Peter Shurman, MPP Thornhill.

For more information contact Avi Benlolo, 416.524-3287, join the Center on Facebook,
, or follow @simonwiesenthal for news updates sent direct to your Twitter page or mobile device.

The Simon Wiesenthal Center is one of the largest international Jewish human rights organizations with over 400.000 members. It is an NGO at international agencies including the United Nations, UNESCO, the OSCE, the Council of Europe, the OAS and the Latin American Parliament.