Make a difference
Sign up for news, updates and events

SWC & FSWC Recent Events


The SWC's Annual Tribute Dinner in New York presented it highest honor, The Humanitarian Laureate Award, to Whoopi Goldberg in recognition of her “commitment to children and the principles of tolerance as espoused by Simon Wiesenthal.”  L-R: SWC Board of Trustees and Dinner Co-Chairs Nelson Peltz, Larry A. Mizel, Honoree Whoopi Goldberg, SWC Dean & Founder Rabbi Marvin Hier, SWC Board of Trustees and Dinner Co-Chairs Marc A. Utay, and Michael J. Fuchs.
Photo: Ronald L. Glassman

The Simon Wiesenthal Center recently presented Amy Pascal of Sony Pictures Entertainment with its highest honor, the Humanitarian Award, at its 2008 National Tribute Dinner in Los Angeles.
Photo: Bart Bartholomew

Dr. Shimon Samuels, SWC Director of International Relations (L) and Mark Weitzman, SWC Task Force Director (R) winners of the National Jewish Book Award for "Anti-Semitism: The Generic Hatred, Essays in Memory of Simon Wiesenthal" at the awards ceremony in New York.




L-R: Martin Rosen, Board of Trustees, SWC, Shimon Samuels, Director for International Relations, SWC, Kristen Silverberg, Assistant Secretary of State, Koichiro Matsuura, Director-General, UNESCO, Graciela Samuels, French Charge de Mission, UNESCO and Mark Weitzman, Director, Taskforce Against Hate, SWC.
L-R: Former NY Governor George Pataki, Mark Weitzman, Director, Taskforce Against Hate, SWC, Martin Rosen, Board of Trustees, SWC and Rhonda Barad, Eastern Director, SWC.

Photos: Ron Glassman

September 24th marked the US launch of Antisemitism: The Generic Hatred, Essays in Memory of Simon Wiesenthal, edited by Michael Fineberg, Shimon Samuels, Director of International Relations, SWC and Mark Weitzman, Director, Taskforce Against Hate, SWC. The launch, which took place at the New York Tolerance Center, featured speeches by Koichiro Matsuura, Director-General, UNESCO, Martin Rosen, personal attorney and close friend of Simon Wiesenthal, as well as Samuels and Weitzman. Those who attended included the German Consul General Dr. Hans-Jeurgen Heimsoeth, the Austrian Consul General Dr. Brigitta Blaha, Assistant Secretary of State Kristen Silverberg and Former New York Governor George Pataki. The book examines some of the reasons that antisemitism has prospered over the ages and persists in our time, seeking to understand and learn from this particular paradigm of hatred and to suggest ways of countering it, in the name of the core values of a common humanity.

2007 Tribute Dinner Honoring Robert Shaye & Michael Lynne

SWC Dinner Honoring Robert Shaye and Michael Lynne, New Line Cinema Co-Chairmen & Co-CEOs with Center's 2007 Humanitarian Award. L-R: Rabbi Meyer May, SWC Executive Director; Queen Latifah; President & COO Time Warner Inc, Jeff Bewkes; Michael Lynne; Robert Shaye; emcee for the evening, CNN's Larry King; SWC Dean & Founder, Rabbi Marvin Hier; CEO Dreamworks Animation, Jeffrey Katzenberg; and SWC Board of Trustees Chairman, Larry Mizel. (Not pictured, Dinner Chair, Universal Studios President & COO, Ron Meyer)

NBC Today Show news anchor Ann Curry, who has distinguished herself by reporting on global humanitarian crises, received the Center’s Medal of Valor -(pictured with Rabbi Hier and her producer and photographer). Also honored (posthumously), Liviu Librescu the Virginia Tech professor who gave his own life so that his students would be spared from the massacre and Israeli Prime Minister, Yitzhak Rabin (posthumously), who led the reunification of Jerusalem 40 years ago.

Read more about the dinner...  



Spirit of Hope 2007 Benefit Dinner, Toronto, Canada


The Honorable Al Gore

SWC Executives and Al Gore

Leslie Diamond, SWC Board of Trustees




 Mr. & Mrs. Eddie Weisz

 Bronfman Family


2007 South Florida Annual Benefit Dinner Honoring Edie Laquer 



L-R: SWC Board Member, George Feldenkreis; SWC Executive Director, Rabbi Meyer May; Dinner Honoree, Edie Laquer; Sanford Ziff; Edie's mother, Peggy Tredler; SWC Founder & Dean, Rabbi Marvin Hier; SWC Director, Major Gifts, Janice Prager, & Mariita Feldenkreis. L-R: Rabbi May; SWC Board Chairman, Larry Mizel;
SWC Board Member, Helene Westreich; Rabbi Hier
L-R: Rabbis Hier & May; SWC National Director, Development, the late Robert Novak; Edie Laquer; Larry Mizel; Stuart Miller; Janice Prager

Edie Laquer and Peggy Tredler Sanford Ziff with Peggy 
signing her book, "Lives Worth Living"
Rabbi Hier; Naomi Wilzig, Larry Mizel; Rabbi May