SWC Applauds Recognition Of Jerusalem As Israel’s Capital

Rabbi Marvin Hier, SWC Founder and Dean is in Washington, DC and available for comment.

December 6, 2017

The Simon Wiesenthal Center applauds President Trump for his historic decision for the United States to correct a 69 year-old travesty and finally recognize Jerusalem as the eternal capital of the State of Israel.

“Every nation in the world has the right to designate its own capital-except for Israel, the only democracy in the Middle East,” said Rabbi Marvin Hier, founder and dean of the Simon Wiesenthal Center.

“President Trump's decision should inspire leading nations of the world, led by Canada, Germany, Russia, France, China, Japan, and the United Kingdom to follow suit,” he added.
At the White House during the announcement: (Photo Left) Rabbi Hier and Rabbi Meyer H. May, SWC Executive Director; with White House Senior Advisor, Jared Kushner (Photo Right) Rabbis May and Hier outside the White House

“This historic decision will ultimately serve the cause of peace and reconciliation. Millions of Christians, Jews and Muslims, as well as people of all faiths, have flocked to Jerusalem since 1967, knowing that unlike the years preceding the Six-Day War, everyone's rights to visit and pray are protected. Millions more will now follow,” Hier added.

“Like President Harry Truman’s singular recognition of the State of Israel, President Trump’s decision to recognize Jerusalem as the capital of Israel, will be a seminal moment in Jewish history,” Rabbi Hier concluded.

For more information, please contact the Center's Communications Department, 310-553-9036, join the Center on Facebook, www.facebook.com/simonwiesenthalcenter, or follow @simonwiesenthal for news updates sent direct to your Twitter feed.

The Simon Wiesenthal Center is one of the largest international Jewish human rights organizations with over 400,000 member families in the United States. It is an NGO at international agencies including the United Nations, UNESCO, the OSCE, the OAS, the Council of Europe and the Latin American Parliament (Parlatino).